No Hope

brown.jpg

I think when asked do you think we could have an ethnic minority as a Prime Minister my answer in all honesty is ‘NO HOPE’. Don’t get me wrong, I’m aware that we live in a world of endless possibilities and nothing but your own self will and enthusiasm can stop you from your hopes and dreams. But we have a long way to go until we get to a situation like the Americans have. Black Britain specifically has long way to gowe need to establish ourselves in this country much more, and that takes time. But I see you all doing your thing and I love it, when I see young black entrepreneurs it inspires me. We need to end this notion of us not owning anything, go to the toilets/cloakroom of a club, fast food restaurants or evening on the street cleaning and look who’s there.

Another point I want to make is about being black and born in this country. What does that mean to you? I think this status is an issue that should be addressed and properly defined, most my bredrins wouldn’t even tell you there British. Even myself, like most people I’m more proud of my heritage than the country I was born in. How can I represent the England when England doesn’t represent me? People need something to be proud of when we say we are ‘Black British’….

I’m gunna end it there but still there’s alot to say

comments are welcome

Chidi Ubani

About this entry